Laser Safety

Oklahoma State University’s Laser Safety Program adheres to appropriate ANSI standards with regard to Class 3B and Class 4 laser use on campus. The goal of the program is to ensure the safety of our faculty, staff, and students, as well as the general public. Laser Safety Office personnel work with laser users to accomplish this.

The faculty driven Laser Safety Committee is chaired by Dr. Al Rosenberger of the Department of Physics. The Vice Chair is Dr. Ken Bartels of the Center for Veterinary Health Sciences. The Laser Safety Officer is Brandi Simmons.

OSU policy requires faculty, staff, students, post docs, visiting scientists, or other personnel planning to use Class 3B and/or Class 4 lasers to obtain prior approval from OSU’s Laser Safety Officer. Training and laboratory inspections are prerequisites to this approval. Laboratory inspections are conducted by OSU’s Laser Safety Officer.

What's New

The Unrecognized Dangers of New Laser Pointers

Committee Members

Upcoming Meetings